Upper Valley Students Chosen to Participate in Emerging Artists Seminar

Upper Valley Students Chosen to Participate in Emerging Artists Seminar

Manchester, NH—Eighty-five students from across the Granite State will come to the NH Institute of Art (Institute) on Saturday, March 22, for the first annual Emerging Artists Seminar—a redesign of the former New Hampshire Allstate Art Festival. These high school juniors will spend the day on the campus of the Institute immersed in all things art.

On the day of the seminar, students will choose from a variety of seminars including painting, printmaking, metalsmithing, illustration, graphic design, ceramics and photography. An afternoon Art Walk/Art Share will showcase the artwork created by students in the morning seminars. There will also be an opportunity in the afternoon for portfolio reviews.

Originally started in 1999 as the New Hampshire Allstate Art Festival, the event has been brought back for 2014 with a slight redesign. The seminar will bring together committed and emerging young artists from across the state who are considering professional careers in the visual arts. Art educators are asked to nominate up to two juniors from their classes with attendees selected from the pool of nominees.

The following students were selected to participate in the 2014 Emerging Artists Seminar:

Sydney Aldrich (Keene HS); Meralee Allen (Goffstown HS); Caroline Anastasia (Winnacunnet HS); Grant Beattie (Jesse Remington HS); Taylor Berry (Bedford HS); Riley Bibaud (Winnacunnet HS); Robin Bigaj (Keene HS); Rachel Borisko (Timberlane Regional HS); Allison Bouchard (Goffstown HS); Kellie Boucher (Manchester West HS); Collin Bowden (Goffstown HS); Erin Boyle (Goffstown HS); Hannah Burke (Jesse Remington HS); Rachell Champagne (Manchester Memorial HS); Yage Chen (St. Thomas Aquinas HS); Rachel Clayton (Laconia HS); Madison Cooke (Keene HS); Eliza Dery (Keene HS); Elizabeth Devereaux (Manchester West HS); Jenna Doucette (Winnacunnet HS); Reece Dow (Jesse Remington HS); Noah Dwyer (Winnacunnet HS); Jessica Fife (Pembroke Academy); Zoe Fraize (Merrimack HS); Amelia Freo (Laconia HS); Kaitlyn Gagne (Merrimack HS); Meg Gallagher (Manchester West HS); Cody Gilbert (Merrimack Valley HS); Mikayla Gomez (Laconia HS); Alexea Grabas (Pembroke Academy); Marissa Grassett (Goffstown HS); Margaret Hagan (John Stark Regional HS); Alison Haigh (Souhegan HS); Sarah Hannaford (Bedford HS); Kaitlyn Hanson (Merrimack HS); Lauren Hastings (Timberlane Regional HS); Rose Hegfield (Souhegan HS); Jade Hurteau (Raymond HS); Angela Hyde (Central HS); Gabrielle Jarry (Alvirne HS); Rowan Joyce (Bedford HS); Jillian Kilar (John Stark Regional HS); Madelaine Kilter (John Stark Regional HS); Kayla King (Dover HS); Natalie Kirkland-Smith (Manchester West HS); Sarah Lappin (Lebanon HS); Madeline Loffredo (Winnacunnet HS): Anna Magee (Contoocook Valley Regional HS); Mikayla Mallett (Winnacunnet HS); Curtis Marden (John Stark Regional HS); Emily Masse (Merrimack Valley HS); Seana McCarthy (Winnacunnet HS); Dana Mendes (Merrimack HS); Jenna Miles (Goffstown HS); Tejas Moses (Contoocook Valley Regional HS); Makaela Myers (Keene HS); Samantha Myrdek (Goffstown HS); Nicholas Orr (Souhegan HS); Zachary Phaneuf (Contoocook Valley Regional HS); Sydney Puffer (St. Thomas Aquinas HS); Ethan Quinn (Souhegan HS); Ashley Riley (Winnisquam Regional HS); Mackenzie Roof (Keene HS); Teaghan Rooney (Timberlane Regional HS); Jessica Salvatore (Bedford HS); Tom Schneider (Merrimack Valley HS); Catherine Shanley (Winnacunnet HS); Jonathan Sheehan (Bishop Guertin HS); William Smith (Winnacunnet HS); Alexandra Sokol (Bedford HS); Lucia Spencer (Manchester West HS); Carmella St. Pierre (Jesse Remington HS); Olivia Stanas (Bedford HS); Emma Steed (Alvirne HS); Heather Stevens (Merrimack Valley HS); Eric Surak (Goffstown HS); Karli Swensen (Lebanon HS); Julia Van Houten (Conant HS); Kayla Vieten (Gilford HS); Julia Walden (Contoocook Valley Regional HS); Shannon Weideman (Conant HS); Robert Wells (Manchester West HS); Anne Werchniak (Winnacunnet HS); Samantha Wood (John Stark Regional HS); Alexander Yonchak (Coe Brown Northwood Academy); Morgon Yorkell (Goffstown HS).


About the NH Institute of Art: Established in 1898 as the Manchester Institute of Arts and Sciences, the New Hampshire Institute of Art offers Bachelor of Fine Arts, Master of Arts in Art Education and Master of Fine Arts degrees as well as Certificate and Continuing Education programs. The Institute’s Sharon Arts center offers a wide variety of art classes and programs in the school facility in Sharon, NH as well as a Fine Craft Gallery, a Juried Artist Member Gallery, and an Exhibition Gallery in Peterborough, NH.

The New Hampshire Institute of Art is accredited by the National Association of Schools of Art and Design and the New England Association of Schools and Colleges. More information is available online at and